Cruelty and its Roots, Beauty and its Roots- An incident from ‘Umar

April 12, 2009

Once ‘Umar the second caliph of Islam wept and then smiled and The Companions seeing this asked to why he did this.

timmmmme

He replied,

“I wept because (in the times of ignorance /jahiliyah)  i remember burying my little daughter alive and whilst i was burying her, she took hold of my beard. I cried because this deeply saddened me.

clayodil

I smiled because (in the times ignorance times) i once made a idol out of dates and i got hungry so i ate it!”

(note: not word for word)

happy

Leave a Reply

